Local Government Law

Contact one of our Team members for assistance in any Local Government Law matters:

Roger Kennedy
DDI: +64 6 350 3761
E: rkennedy@crlaw.co.nz

Ashley Muir
DDI: +64 6 350 3763
E: amuir@crlaw.co.nz

Lester Houghton
DDI: +64 6 350 3765
E: lhoughton@crlaw.co.nz

Cindy Cotter
DDI: +64 6 350 3767
E: ccotter@crlaw.co.nz

Nicholas Jessen
DDI: +64 6 350 3769
E: njessen@crlaw.co.nz

Simon Clark
DDI: +64 6 280 2941
E: sclark@crlaw.co.nz

Shannon Johnston
DDI: +64 6 280 2716
E: sjohnston@crlaw.co.nz

Alexandra Smith
DDI: +64 6 280 2940
E: asmith@crlaw.co.nz

Kirsten Harper
DDI: +64 6 280 4802
E: kharper@crlaw.co.nz

We have an extensive local government and public law practice, and provide advice to a range of local authorities throughout New Zealand. We can advise you in a wide number of matters including statutory interpretation, legal requirements on local authorities, consultation
mechanisms, procedural matters including separating operational and regulatory functions, strategic planning of assets, drafting and
enforcement of bylaws, contract drafting and outsourcing agreements, all matters relating to the Building Act and Public Works Act, and
advice on the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi.
Our solicitors in the Local Government team are also experienced in commercial law, property law, rural law, employment law and civil
litigation and so are well equipped to advise on the full breadth of matters that impact local authorities in New Zealand.