Local Government Law

Contact one of our Team members for assistance in any Local Government Law matters:

Roger Kennedy
Partner
DDI: +64 6 350 3761
E: rkennedy@crlaw.co.nz

Alexandra Smith
Senior Associate
DDI: +64 6 280 2940
E: asmith@crlaw.co.nz

Lester Houghton
Partner
DDI: +64 6 350 3765
E: lhoughton@crlaw.co.nz

Ashley Muir
Associate
DDI: +64 6 350 3763
E: amuir@crlaw.co.nz

Nicholas Jessen
Partner
DDI: +64 6 350 3769
E: njessen@crlaw.co.nz

Tom Gilchrist
Solicitor
DDI: +64 6 280 1045
E: tgilchrist@crlaw.co.nz

Shannon Johnston
Partner
DDI: +64 6 280 2716
E: sjohnston@crlaw.co.nz

Elliot Maassen
Solicitor
DDI: +64 6 350 3773
E: emaassen@crlaw.co.nz

We have an extensive local government and public law practice, and provide advice to a range of local authorities throughout New Zealand. We can advise you in a wide number of matters including statutory interpretation, legal requirements on local authorities, consultation
mechanisms, procedural matters including separating operational and regulatory functions, strategic planning of assets, drafting and
enforcement of bylaws, contract drafting and outsourcing agreements, all matters relating to the Building Act and Public Works Act, and
advice on the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi.
Our solicitors in the Local Government team are also experienced in commercial law, property law, rural law, employment law and civil
litigation and so are well equipped to advise on the full breadth of matters that impact local authorities in New Zealand.